Rest Days

They say rest days are the most important days. I personally hate taking them. I feel lazy, like I’m going to ruin my progress and *gasp* not burn off calories. However, I know that rest days are vital to making progress. Your body needs time to rest and recover from the hard workouts you’ve done. Since I took 2 days off last week due to my crazy schedule as of late, I worked out all weekend – Friday night kettlebell class, about 3 hours on Saturday at that Be Well Philly Bootcamp – and an hour at Lithe on Sunday too. My legs were very tired, and yesterday at kettlebell class, my back was feeling tight. I knew today had to be a rest day. I am going to do some extra walking today, but I really am going to take it easy. Too much exercise and not enough rest can start to negate all of the hard work I am putting in, which clearly makes no sense. Also, I really do perform better when I’m rested. Despite that,  it can be hard to remind myself that your body gets stronger when it has time to heal and recover.

Image

Leave a Reply

