Fish Tacos

Recently, I started *seriously* loving fish tacos. Then, on my recent trip to Washington state, I ate salmon several times for dinner, in addition to some fish tacos. This may seem normal to all of you, but let’s back track.

Ever since I can remember, I have *hated* fish. We are talking serious hatred. Fish sticks? I’d rather sit at the kitchen table for hours then have to put those into my mouth. Flounder that we caught in Ocean City, MD? No, thanks. I’ll just eat this baked potato. At some point only a couple of years ago, I decided to give sushi a try – and holy cow did I love it! However, I still stood by the fact that I couldn’t stand cooked fish.

Here is the part of the story in which we reach the turning point. I decided on a whim one night, about a month ago, to get fish tacos at Cantina Los Caballitos in South Philly. I have never had something there that I didn’t like, and these fish tacos were no exception. They were delicious! I thought about those fish tacos for weeks until I finally decided to make my own. So, I found a recipe and got started.

I (more or less) followed this recipe. I used cod, purchased at Whole Foods. I got a pound to make tacos for 4 people, and there was enough fish leftover for 2 more small tacos.  I followed the recipe for the marinade and slaw, which was delicious.  I cut the fish into one inch pieces before marinating and then pan seared the fish on the stove. I used tortillas purchased in the Italian Market from Tortilleria San Roman (go there immediately). The tacos were a big hit.

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/u/0/?ui=2&ik=f5148579e8&view=att&th=1401c7535fe8fdaa&attid=0.1&disp=inline&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P9SjldfAXxaYgMTk3xXzMS8&sadet=1374867077755&sads=i43FN4WDFRLl8mrm8s-ap_Ms5oI&sadssc=1

A few days later, I left for the Northwest.  I ate fish tacos twice and willingly ate salmon for dinner 3 nights in a row. AND I just bought more cod to make fish tacos this week.

 

I guess I like fish now. What’s a food that you now like that you used to hate?

3 thoughts on “Fish Tacos

  1. Beans. Any type of legume. I hated them.My mom would smother them in butter and say tell me they tasted like candy but I didn’t fall for that. Now I love them, cold or hot. Still on the fence about lima beans.

  2. tomatoes! all through high school and early college i hated them. can’t remember the moment things changed but today I am a huge fan.

Leave a Reply

