10 Day Challenge: Day 9

Today is Day 9! I’m excited to have a beer on Friday – don’t get me wrong – but I have discovered that I haven’t really missed wheat or dairy at all. I remember feeling a bit more deprived the first time around doing something similar to this. I will post a complete recap of the 10 Day Challenge when it’s over; however, I thought I’d share some photos today to highlight some things from the past few days.

Food I Ate  (and Didn’t Eat)

Image

I made Thai red curry with chicken and vegetables last night for dinner/lunches this week.  I added a little water to it, and I think I shouldn’t have – it turned out a little watery than normal. I made this huge pot of it (this picture was taken before the tofu was added), and it will last for at least 5 meals. It’s dairy free (and meat free for that matter), and I have been eating it over a cup of brown rice – that are pre-cooked and packaged in ziplock bags in my freezer. You just microwave it for 2 minutes. It’s genius really, just be sure to package it up when it’s still warm to lock in moisture.

Image

I spent some time with Ingela and her family this weekend. They were super supportive in our no dairy/no wheat efforts. We would have made do, but they re-did their menu for us!  For dinner on Saturday, we had vegetable skewers and sausages. I found this recipe for banana boats for “Paleo” campfire treats, and they were absolutely delicious. We cut open a banana and stuffed it with a little peanut butter, some dark chocolate chips, and topped it with some almonds. Wrap it up in foil, put it in the fire for awhile, and enjoy. Brunch the next day was eggs with veggies and watermelon. Perfect.

I did eat a ton of chips and salsa this weekend – which isn’t the best, and not the worst thing. Technically fits with no wheat/no dairy, but *not* with the “real food rules“. Jess and I went to our baby cousin’s first birthday party, and while I did eat some potato chips, I did not eat any cake. It wasn’t that big of a sacrifice. Cake is not the thing I would eat if it were my last meal on Earth.

Things I Did

8 mile run on Saturday morning! Pace was great, weather was great, and Tamika came along with Matt, Jess, and I!  We did an out and back on Kelly Drive.

ImageImageImage

We are seriously the happiest people I’ve ever met post-run.

My knee started to bother me during the last mile. I’ve never had knee problems, so I decided it was time for new sneakers. Honestly, it’s been time for a few months. Philadelphia Runner had a cool Beer and Gear event (in which I did *not* partake in the beer), and I had a $25 gift card from a Body Cycle giveaway last spring, so I ventured over to actually spend some money on decent sneakers. Look how pretty they are? (Saucony Ride 6 for those who care).

Image

I wore them yesterday and today and love them. Yesterday, I ran 2 miles over the Schuylkill for Ranger Training and then wore them for class – stairs, wall squats, crab walks, power step ups, etc etc etc. Then I wore them today for Kettlebell class. Love them.

Also, I want to leave you with my article of the week. Fitspiration is getting a little out of hand. Yes, it can be inspiring, but it can also be down right damaging, which I didn’t fully realize until reading this. He’s pretty spot on with a lot of this. I strive to be *healthy*. I work out hard, and too much according to some people – but I take days off each week, eat plenty to fuel myself, and listen to my body. Last Friday, my body said “don’t you dare go do a kettlebell class and expect me to run 8 miles tomorrow.” So I went to yoga. It’s important to make the distinction between killing yourself in the gym and training hard. Read this. It’s important.

One thought on “10 Day Challenge: Day 9

  1. Pingback: 10 Day Challenge: Recap | just a spoonful of burpees

Leave a Reply

