Christmas Craziness

The holidays are a crazy time, aren’t they? I have barely thought about this blog recently. But man, have I been thinking about all of those cookies I have been eating!

I have a BIG confession to make: I made a colossal mistake last week and decided to buy a scale. WHICH WAS REALLY DUMB GUYS, because…

A) It was a New Year’s Resolution to stop weighing myself so much.

B) I hadn’t weighed myself hardly at all in 2 months, and I had been really crazy insanely happy about not weighing myself.

C) I hadn’t really felt fat at all. There was very little self fat talk!

and D) I have been eating a lot of cookies.

Of course, I stepped on the scale approximately 10 times in the past 6 days, and shockingly, I haven’t been super pleased with the result. I mean, it’s within 5 pounds of what it said last time I got on it before Thanksgiving (which was a couple pounds higher than I wanted it to be at that point, to be honest).  I knew I wanted to do a January reset anyway to make me feel healthy and happy after the holidays, but really, what was I thinking? I don’t need that stupid little number. My clothes fit. I’ve been working out a lot. I had been feeling [and looking] great. Shouldn’t that be enough?!

It’s AMAZING what a stupid little number on a scale can do for your mental health, and how a simple number can affect your body image.  [And it is really. just. a. number. I mean, step on and off and you may get a different #. or drink water. or go to the bathroom.] My friend posted a thing on instagram yesterday that read:

Untitled2

THAT’S ALMOST AN ENTIRE YEAR WORRYING ABOUT HOW MUCH YOU WEIGH.

And that, my friends, is NOT okay. There are so many better things in life to think about and relish in. How can you enjoy the wonderful time you are having with friends and family if you are worried about how your stomach looks in your jeans when you sit down? Or how your arm will look in that picture? Or. Or. Or. We are literally missing out on some of the best moments of our lives, because we are so worried about the number the scale said that morning and whether or not you should really have that extra cookie or pita with hummus.

It’s a balancing act. Treat your body well. Feed it well. Most of the time, feed it with whole foods. [whole foods, like real foods, not the store]. Stay away from packaged products. Drink water. Eat food that is a variety of colors. Exercise. Exercise. Exercise. [good for your body and your mind]. And make peace. With yourself. Your body.

… and put the damn scale away. 

[side note: as of today, my scale is currently living in a closet hidden away from view. where i will use it occasionally to keep myself honest.]

One thought on “Christmas Craziness

  1. Pingback: 2 Week Nutrition Challenge | just a spoonful of burpees

Leave a Reply

