December Running

I haven’t really been running. I’ve been going to Sarge and to a lot of Lithe classes, but running? It’s so cold!

According to my RunKeeper app, since the Oktoberfest Half at the end of October, I have run 2 times, and I ran once without my phone – making 3.  Apparently, I ran 4 miles on November 14. The next was on Thanksgiving when I ran a Turkey Trot with my sister and two friends.   Aren’t we adorable? It was COLD that day, yo. Like, feels like 13 degrees cold.

turkey trot collage

imageAfter the Turkey Trot, I didn’t run until December 22nd. Jess and I ran 3 miles or so in 60 degree rain. Strange for December in Philly. Today, I was feeling like I could use a good run, so I went and busted out 5 miles! Considering my recent (lack of) running, I think it was a pretty awesome run. It wasn’t too cold, but I bundled up in a long sleeve shirt, fingerless gloves, pants, and an ear warmer, and I set out to do 3-4 miles. Once I got moving – the semi-cold, dreary weather didn’t really seem that bad. I have a basic 3ish mile loop from my house with several extensions that I can add on, and I just kept adding! If curious, I ran down to Washington Avenue, over to Columbus Blvd, north on Penns Landing, out and back on the pier by the marina, then all the way up to the Race Street Pier – a quick loop around there, west on Race St to 7th and back down. I was tired in the middle and definitely working – it wasn’t an “easy” run. RunKeeper has my pace a little slower than my iSmoothRun app, which said 10:20, and I think is more accurate. (RK is just prettier for posting, to be honest).  Regardless of my pace, I went farther than I have since October and pushed it a little. With few red lights for most of this route, I was really able to get into a groove. And by the time I was on Race St and 7th St, I was ready for a few seconds of break here and there.

elvis

Elvis at 2nd and Race

BFB BFB

How do you feel about winter running? Any good city runs lately?

Leave a Reply

