Chicken and Kale Enchiladas

This weather is the pits. I don’t want to do anything. I don’t want to cook. I want to eat pizza and drink beer. all. day. every. day. However, I managed to make some pretty yummy [and reasonably healthy] enchiladas last week! [Mexican is by far my favorite food, but it’s *not* particularly healthy, so I like to make it myself!]

What I used: Whole Foods corn tortillas (there are like 2 or 3 ingredients), Trader Joe’s Enchilada Sauce (you can also make your own. I would highly suggest doing that, actually. Do as I say, not as I do!), 2 chicken breasts, kale, 1/2 onion, cheese

photo 1 photo 1

Step 1: I poached the chicken breasts and then shredded them by hand.

photo 2

Step 2: I warmed and softened the tortillas with some spray oil in an omelette pan. Next time, I would just stick them in the microwave as this method didn’t work wonderfully.

photo 3

Step 3: Cook the onions and kale.

photo 4 photo 5

Step 4: Put about 1/3/-1/2 of the enchilada sauce in the bottom of the enchilada baking dish. Put the rest in a wide bowl. Dip the tortillas in the wide bowl to get them coated in the sauce, then fill with a little of the kale/onion mixture, some chicken and roll them.

photo 2photo 3

Step 5: Cozy them into the baking dish. Pour the remaining enchilada sauce over the enchiladas. Top with some shredded cheese. Bake for about 15 minutes. I ate two at a time with some refried black beans.

These would be awesome with mole sauce too. Mole is traditionally really hard to make with 2,302,938 ingredients, but here’s an easy recipe I found. You can do Enchiladas Verdes with a jar of green (or tomatillo) salsa. I haven’t tried these specific recipes, but I have made some similar ones.

Mole

Red Enchilada Sauce

 

 

What’s your favorite Mexican meal to make? Have you ever made enchiladas?

Leave a Reply

