4 Week 15K Training Plan!

photo

Last week, I realized that the 15K Hot Chocolate Run was in a month. A quick glance at RunKeeper confirmed my suspicions that I had not exactly been running enough. Uhm, I had only run 11 miles in February. Total. And not a single mile in January.

I had been working out – at least 5 days a week: Lithe, Power Yoga, Ranger Training, and some random spin classes.  But not running. A polar vortex took over Philadelphia for most of the winter, and I did not want to be outside in it. I certainly didn’t want to be running. I love running, but not when it’s so cold that my face feels like it’s going to burn off.

Finally March 8th looked like a pleasant Saturday, so I made running plans with Matt, dragged myself to the neighborhood Sweat Fitness for a dreaded treadmill speed workout, and started looking up 4 week 15K training plans. There are a couple ones out there, but I didn’t find one that would work for me. So, I decided to make my own.

I do want to say that if you do not have experience with distance running, you need more time to prepare. A lot of distance running is the mental game. 4 weeks isn’t enough time to develop that. Also, if you haven’t been working out at all, you should NOT try to prepare for a distance race in 4 weeks.  [On the other hand, I have been working out all winter, and I have run 3 half marathons and 3 10-mile races.] Also, keep expectations realistic. You will likely not run a PR, and that is OKAY. [Technically, I’ve never run a 15K, so it will be a PR anyway. :)]

Here is my plan. Last Saturday (pre-4 week plan), I ran a little over 4 miles on the Ben Franklin Bridge. On Monday (birthday run!), I did 4 miles tempo. Tuesday, I did an easy 3 mile run with Matt.  Tomorrow morning is my 6 mile run, also on the Ben Franklin Bridge.

4 Week 15K Training Plan! 

Day 1 Day 2 Day 3
Week 1 3-4 miles easy 3-4 miles tempo or hills 6 miles
Week 2 3-4 miles easy 4-5 miles tempo or hills 7 miles
Week 3 3-4 miles easy 4-5 miles tempo or hills 8 miles
Week 4 3-4 miles tempo 3 miles easy 15K Race

What’s the shortest amount of time you have spent training for a distance race? How did the race go for you?

6 thoughts on “4 Week 15K Training Plan!

  1. I ended up leaving myself w/ four weeks to train for 10 mine Broad St. Run. I haven’t run in 2 years due to surgery, so I’m starting all over. I do all my races (mostly half-marathons with 75% power-walking and 25% running. I just struggle to build running stamina which is a goal this year.) On the upside,have been doing a bit strength training DAILY for the past 3 months. Hill drills & hiking are a huge help as well. Plus, my ‘head game’ and strategy are so much better based on what I’ve learned in the past. Even with the abbreviated training, I fully expect a PR this year. But I’ll never leave myself with less than 8 weeks of training again!!

Leave a Reply

